“Practical Magic” Party Blog Post.

Well I’m so sorry for being late with my Blog Party post. I thought I was so organized. It was ready and sitting in the draft section. I took Harry to Soccer , we lost. It was not a happy journey on the way home.  And then I saw I had spaced on the day. Oh No…. So here it is.

YAY.. Today I’m joining a blog party for one of my favourite movies. I signed up for it last month and I’ve been pondering about what to write.

One of my favorite quotes from the movie is, ” There’s a little witch in every woman.” I love that.

I think the movie is about common and garden magic, more holistic I think. The complicated relationship between sisters and let’s be honest, I want to be able to stir my coffee like Sally.
Personally I do believe there is magic everywhere. We feel it in our gut, we dream things sometimes before they happen, weird? We bump into people we were just thinking of! There are always things that cannot be explained in our life.

“My darling girl, when are you going to understand that ‘normal’ isn’t a virtue? It rather denotes a lack of courage.” Another great quote.

So here are some pictures of the their wonderful house.. I loved that house and would love to have visited it, except it was made for the movie. Bummer! It took 8 months to build the house.

Building the house. Rumour says they tried to sell it after the movie.

Here’s some trivia:

At one point when they were filming the “coven” scene. When the phone tree people all came to help save Gillian. As the women were chanting a door started slamming… Eerie!

150 extras dressed in Halloween costumes were in the final scene. Most of them locals.

Midnight Margaritas Giveaway...

Remember Midnight Margaritas, one of my many favourite scenes….  Well, here’s my giveaway:  It’s a 5×5 original, mixed media wrapped canvas. Leave a comment after this post and a way to contact you. I’ll put all the names in a hat and Pull out a winner. YAY…

Just to end with another of my favourite scenes. Please check out all the other bloggers in the blog party

Tags: , , , ,

24 Responses to ““Practical Magic” Party Blog Post.”

  1. Theresa Says:

    Lovely Practical Magic Party Post! Thank you for sharing.

    If you have not already done so, please feel free to fly over and visit with me:

    http://faeriemooncreations.blogspot.com/2010/09/because-theres-little-witch-in-every.html

    Sincerely, Theresa

  2. Celina Matthews Says:

    Thank you so much for inviting me over to your blog party! I had so much fun!

  3. Celia Says:

    Great party! Love your mixed media page! Thanks for coming by my party and inviting me to yours!

  4. valerie hart Says:

    Happy you made it to the Practical Magic Party Collette! Lots of fun stuff you posted! Love the painting too with the incantation! I have the incantation on my blog too! I’m having so much fun going around to all of these blogs! Love the Stevie Nicks song in the YouTube video!

    Lots of magical wishes, dreams and blessing to you and your family! Wish we could sit down for a margarita together!

    xoxo Valerie
    http://valeriehart.com/

  5. Shaiha Says:

    This is such a great blog party! I loving seeing all creativity that went into the posts.

    Be sure to stop by for my giveaway
    http://shaihasramblings.blogspot.com/

    Brightest Blessings!

  6. Kelly @ Tales from the South Says:

    Thanks for visiting my blog!
    I love that house! I want one like it so bad!! lol 😀

    Have a magical weekend!!

  7. Aunt Amelia Says:

    Thank you for participating in the Practical Magic Party.

    Gentle hugs,
    ‘Auntie,’ being “Aunt Bridget” for the weekend

  8. Jacilyn Says:

    I like your midnight margarita party piece! How fun.

  9. Belinda Says:

    never too late to party! wonderful painting, maybe i get lucky?
    sending sparkles

  10. Blanche Says:

    Glad you were able to join in – sorry about the game!
    Love your pictures and videos form the movie!
    Thanks for sharing the little bit of witch in you!

    -Blanche

  11. dogsmom Says:

    I am not sure I have seen the first video. If the gremlins had not been at work I would watch it now, but just in protest I will wait a few days. (Party p**pers.) Originally my post was going to be about aromatherapy but time slipped away from me as well, even though I had the post mainly written.

    Don’t we all love that house, real or movie magic.
    Should there ever be a sequel, or next generation film, it will have to be rebuilt – the same as before. Her admirers will accept no sunstitutions.

  12. jaz Says:

    if you have time stop by to see the original spellbook and sally’s umbrella. they sell the plans to build the house and i have often been tempted. i am recreating it in dollhouse form.

  13. Birgit Says:

    What a lovely Practical Magic party post — thanks for sharing! 🙂

    — Birgit

  14. Kathy Says:

    I think most of us are quite in love with this house! Terrific post!
    Kathy

  15. Aimee Jeffries Says:

    Happy Practical Magic Blog Party, great post!

  16. Jordan P Says:

    Goodness, I love this flick, such a classic!! Sandra truly shined.

  17. Annabelle Says:

    Thanks for posting the video of the house….if only I had one just like it. Oh well we can all dream and fly to each and every witches’ home and realize their creations and adornments of their lovely homes leaving their humble abodes inspired to create the perfect PM mansion of our very own.
    ~^..^~ * Annabelle

  18. Sparkster Says:

    Wonderful post and an awesome and generous giveaway. You captured the feel of a margarita well, I think. I love trivia of all sorts, so thank you for sharing that. 🙂

    faith, trust, and faerie dust!

    http://fortheloveofcreativity.blogspot.com

  19. Penny Says:

    Great Party post.
    Thank you for sharing your gift of magic with us

    Brightest Blessings,
    Penny

  20. Susan G Says:

    LOVELY post and AWESOME giveaway! Thanks for the opportunity!

    Yes… “there is a little witch in all of us” ~ Aunt Jet- Practical Magic the Film

    The book lists it as in all women.

    I like the phrase better from the movie, as men are witches also.
    and children…such as young Sally making her True Love spell!

    Peace n love to you and yours,
    Susan

  21. Ivy Says:

    Oh what a great post! Love the Practical Magic party idea…very fun! Love the videos too thanks for sharing ♥

  22. Lenora Says:

    Thanks – enjoyed your post – wonderful giveaway! Thanks for your visit!

  23. spindelmaker Says:

    This is one of my favorites too! Do you know if the house still exists? Or if they tore it down?

Leave a Reply

