Back from Orlando

We’re back from Florida. We had a great time. We went to 3 parks.

MGM ( I believe it’s called hollywood studios now) and the Tower of Terror!!

Universal- very hot .

The last day we went to Sea world and the Manta ride…

Harry, My 10 yr old , received lots of prodding and goading from his 15 yr old brother. ( brothers can be mean)  He was pressured into going on roller coaster rides. Which meant If he went I had to go. He was nervous the first few times and would only go with me. Not too bad really, until my 6th time on Aero Smith and the Rocking Roller coaster!

The next day he felt like a pro. The kids all wanted to go on the Manta Ride at Sea World. This ride you lay forward  and sort of hang in the air. Honestly REALLY SCARY. I think Harry wasn’t sure about this ride, but as I said older brothers can be mean. So we lined up. Got into our seats, Jack was a few rows behind  with Jess, Karen and my niece Chloe, as he wanted the back!! (freak) Harry,Nicole, Maz and I went in the middle as Harry insisted it couldn’t be as bad as the front or back.( He was mistaken)

As we were locked into our seats, I looked over  at Harry and saw his little face looking well…..you can guess. I reminded him we could still get off (although I think we were past the point of no return.) He replied “No Mum, I want to do it.” Even though his expression said otherwise. Of course seeing Harry’s face made me put on a brave face of my own while silently being a little mad at Jack.

We were flipped forward onto our bellys and then proceeded to move forward. Awful!  Looping and twisting, for what seemed like forever. 5 seconds into the ride I heard Harry scream” I love it,” I on the other hand, did not.

As we pulled into  the end of the ride. The seats uprighted and the locks sprung free. I stood up feeling emotionally and physically drained. My hair was wildly all over the place. I looked up and saw a mirror image in Maz. As I stumbled off the kids wanted to do it again I just couldn’t. I managed to put it off until later.

They look like they're having fun!!!!! Sicko's.

Seriously!!!!

I’m participating in an ATC Swap. I sent my 2 cards out today. Here are some that I made. I had so much fun making them. I scanned some in twice they’re crooked and can’t work out how  to crop them in WordPress, Oh well!

ATC's

Oops I scanned them in crookedly.

Tomorrow we are off on another little jaunt to the Hampton’s, on Long Island, NY for a few days. It should be fun… the rain seems to have stopped.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

10 Responses to “Back from Orlando”

  1. jacqueline Says:

    Forida is such a beautiful place! So glad you had a wonderful vacation and your cards are gorgeous! Have a lovely merry happy day and love to you!

  2. marianne@ruffhaven Says:

    I love Roller Coasters. Next time take me and I’ll ride them all day with your kids. Sounds like you all had a great time.

  3. Michele Says:

    OMG that ride looks crazy! I totally would have done it years ago, but now….I’m not so sure I’d be as brave as you were.

    Love the ATC’s too, they are beautiful!

  4. Jodi Shaw Says:

    First of all…I love your story about your son…when you heard him… “I love it!”…and then catching a glimpse of yourself…{classic mom-stuff~I love to read it!}…we are preparing for a trip to Orlando in Nov.

    Second…your ATC cards are adorable! I love the “beehive” hairdo one! It’s my fave!

    Have fun on your next trip!
    grace,
    ~jodi

  5. Linda Robison Says:

    wow you are brave! Just making the rounds seeing what everyone is up to, fly by some time 😉 Blog: http://www.designsbylindar.blogspot.com/ or “like” my Fan/Biz page http://www.facebook.com/pages/Me-Myself-and-You/105043419547115

  6. kerri Says:

    your cards are beeeeautiful!

    i used to love rollercoasters, but these days, my neck just can’t take it.
    i love the caption below the picture of them on the ride. so funny!!

  7. Sylvia Drown Says:

    Hi Colette! I love your art….my fav is your flying pig!! Glad you had a great time in Florida…and the pic of the kids in the ride is awesome! Thanks for visiting my blog…Kristie and I had a ball, will be posting pictures soon!

  8. diana Says:

    I am sooo glad I don’t have to ride another roller coaster. It use to be a favorite of mine. Last time at Disneyland, “California Supreme or something like that”, I almost lost my cookies. I told the kids …”you’re on your own from now on.” When did that happen? When did I turn into my mother? ;} Love your cards, beautiful.

Leave a Reply

