How I painted a hot pink monkey…

A friend of mine has just had a baby.. and I was given the challenge of hot pink monkey artwork. I would have been ready, I swear but Charley decided to come at least 3 weeks early. I have had so many fun things in my head. I can’t seem to turn them off. I have to write down all of the ideas until they leave me alone. Usually because I can never commit to one idea. I have several paintings on the go. Monkey Pirate, Monkey Tutu, I also have cute little onesies I’m going to paint on. Where will I find the time?

I am a little behind and when I should have been working on the monkeys.. I found myself sketching a little dancing robot. I’m not sure where she came from, but I’m sure it had nothing to do with watching Dexter!

She was painted with watercolours and she's a little softer than the scan shows. Which I prefer.

I’ve been busy with the kids, back to school, Jack is driving and is making me taking him ALL the time. My poor gas tank needs constant filling up. Doesn’t he realize gas is expensive!!! He’s actually very good, and I’m loving the bonding time in the car together. Harry is playing school soccer  and we look forward to the new show Terra Nova on Mondays. yay tonight Woo Hoo. Jess just got promoted … well done Jess. Although she’ll have a commute .. about an hour in the car.. It’s a great thing…yay!!!!!

Anyway I took a movie ( sort of. I kept running out of memory card and battery ) of the monkey painting and I see myself painting Over and Over the same stuff!!!! I use all types of materials, pens, pencils, paints .. I didn’t use paper in this one. I have an idea for the next one with paper  though. I also see myself with a fistful of paintbrushes. At least you don’t see me dip my brush in coffee or tea…. I do that a lot! Anyway… I managed to paint the eyes finally… I just couldn’t bring myself to do that for a long time.  I still think there’s something missing.

http://www.youtube.com/user/jasperandblue?feature=mhee

By the way I just cannot figure out how to put the video in this post!!! Even though i’ve done it before . Hmphhhhh!

Here’s the video.. I’ve speeded it up , so hopefully it won’t be too long. I’m still working out the format and stuff. Lots to learn.

jasperandblue’s Channel – YouTube

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Responses to “How I painted a hot pink monkey…”

  1. KatiesCameraBlog Says:

    I love your monkey! :)

  2. Alli Says:

    It sounds like you have been super busy! especially with those monkeys. I loved your little video! Your monkey is so cute :) I can’t wait to see what the others look like finished :D ooh, and that robot is too adorable :D

    To put a youtube video in a post on wordpress all you need to do is copy the link, and then paste the link directly into your post. It took me some time to figure it out too. I think that the wordpress tutorials need some updating. Hee hee.

    Hope that you have a good one!

  3. Dianne Forrest Trautmann Says:

    Love the monkey, and the tease of all those other monkey pictures you have in progress! The monkey with the monkey toy and blanket is great, but I kept wanting to see something in the upper left hand of the canvas- maybe a small picture on the wall of a still life of a bunch of bananas? I guess mentally I am placing the monkey in a bedroom or something and it needs some atmospheric detail. Love to watch your process!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

