Illustration Friday- Asleep

I feel like I’m cheating because  I have posted this before. But it’s so perfect for asleep…… I just had to post it again……

Sorry!

I used to stalk the illustration Friday site for a long time before I actually posted anything, marvelling at everyone’s excellent work. Eventually I plucked up courage and I think this may have been one of my first posts. So maybe no one will remember.

Asleep......Zzzzzzzzz

While I’m at it I have a few others to post. Not  really for illustration friday, but one was a second safari picture I did of the same elephant from last week. I couldn’t really commit to one design ( what’s new) so I did both.

safari elephant 2

Hmm,  maybe that bird looks a little sleepy. I’m not sure if the print is too harsh on the elephant!

And last but not least a girl I’ve been working on from an art class I took with Christy Tomlinson online. I’m really enjoying the pink and orange. I’ve had so much fun and now I’m ready to explore with a whole bunch of new tools under my belt. So many ideas, so little time. You know how it is. I just have to remember to write the ideas down as they pop into my head.

I think the sun will make her sleepy before long.

I’m sitting here, ready for bed.  I’m so tired but I had to go to an important soccer meeting which didn’t end until 11,20. I’m so tired. Wahhh.  However just before i went a croissant set alight in my toaster oven. Thank god I alwyas tell the kids not to cook and definitely nt to use that when I’m out. (now they know i wasn;t just nagging. My house still smells of smoke. The stupid fire extinguisher didnt work…

So as the flames grew I managed to unplug the thing, and with my oven mitts i put the firey toaster oven  with the door shut thank goodness  but it was starting to melt)  in my pampered chef big pizza stone and tried not to trip over the dogs as I made my way to the garden, and there we doused it with water.  A little scary. My house stinks of smoke. It’s all in the back of my throat . Yuk. I was a little shaky afterwards… but we were lucky. Lucky I was in the room , lucky I was home,  Lucky in so many ways. ( my lovely In-laws house burnt down a few years ago. They were in it at the time, but they were so lucky too.)

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

8 Responses to “Illustration Friday- Asleep”

  1. Patti Gay Says:

    very cute

  2. jacqueline Says:

    Dearest sweet collette, i love love your adorable illustrations…that little piggie and the duck are just sooo adorable and im actually feeling sleeping right now after a heavy lunch.
    Oh my so sorry to hear about your toaster incident! I am so glad everything is ok and everyone is alright. So so glad.
    Have a lovely merry happy night and sweet dreams! Love to you.

  3. spindelmaker Says:

    Lovely illustrations! I adore your girl! with the vibrance of the colors, the textures, everything.
    I´m sorry about your toaster. Or. Maybe not. In hind-sight, when everything turns out all right, it´s actually good that we get these wake-up-calls once in a while. If you know what I mean. It´s nice to know you´re a woman-of-action, it´s good for the kids to take fire-safety seriously, it´s good to remember to turn the fire-extinguisher every now and then… just that little extra awareness. I´m very glad everything turned out good thought!!!!

  4. Sylvia Says:

    These are all great, and I really like the duck/pig one. So sweet.

  5. Janet Says:

    I adore your pi8g and duck, such a special illustration! :-)

  6. Alicia S. Says:

    I am so in love with that elephant — then I saw the little girl, and now I’m torn between the two. All 3 pieces are amazing.

  7. Nelly Eisenhower Says:

    Oh my! I am glad that you are alright, that is really scary!!!! In a lighter note, your drawing of Asleep is sooooo cute I love it! Also, your She Art painting is so cool. I have seen so many from this class it is amazing how yours really has your style in it. I love the orange and pink!

  8. alysse Says:

    Wonderful-fun illustrations!

    Sory about the toaster oven. We have had the toaster oven woes lately, and bought a new one. It’s mysteriously burning everything, and we feel like dorks for not figuring it out……

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

